在纽约大都会区众多一流亚洲艺术专家、大型拍卖行、世界知名博物馆和亚洲文化机构的通力协作之下,纽约亚洲艺术周肩负着弘扬和促进亚洲文化在纽约市蓬勃发展的光荣使命。 每年 3 月,纽约亚洲艺术周协会都将全力打造一整周精彩不断、琳琅纷繁的艺术盛会以吸引来自美国及全球各地的收藏家和策展人参观鉴赏。 同时,这项活动亦得以实现其更宏大的目标:确立亚洲艺术在全纽约乃至全美文化领域中的重要地位。

2009 年 3 月 13–21 日期间,一个由 16 家画廊组成,当时名为“Asian Art Dealers of the Upper East Side(上东区亚洲画廊协会)”的组织于 2009 年 3 月 14 日首次合作推出艺廊开放日的活动。 这种开放日形式以及之后持续一周的画廊展览成为了后来各届纽约亚洲艺术周的原型。

2010 年,重新组成的“Asian Art Dealers New York”不断发展茁壮,并邀请了 31 名国际一流的亚洲艺术专家同时于 3 月 19–27 日期间,在曼哈顿各地举办独立展览。 艺术周在鲁宾艺术博物馆 (The Rubin Museum of Art) 举行的鸡尾酒招待会中拉开序幕,随后举办了艺廊周末开放日活动,参观者成群结队地涌入各展览点的画廊,观看展出的艺术品。 大型拍卖行、博物馆及文化机构也共相盛举,与参展画廊举办的文化活动相得益彰。

2011 年,Asian Art Dealers New York Association 被正式重新命名为纽约亚洲艺术周协会,并纳入纽约州管辖。 2011纽约亚洲艺术周在亚洲协会举行的令人难忘的招待会中拉开序幕,众多国际亚洲画廊、大型拍卖行和世界知名博物馆及文化机构群体举办了三十多场艺术展览、拍卖会及特别活动。 期间共展出数千件从古至今的亚洲艺术作品,带来了超过 2.5 亿美元的销售额。 在艺术周期间中,VIP 客人和各参展机构皆受邀参与在 日本协会 举行的私人招待会、特别讲座及巡回展览,这些活动成功地引起了人们对 日本协会 地震救济基金的广大回响。

2012 年的纽约亚洲艺术周于 3 月 16 日至 24 日举行,期间安排了精彩纷呈的丰富活动,包括展览、拍卖会、开幕酒会、艺术教育项目和特别活动。 庆祝活动在3 月 16 日晚间于摩根图书馆与博物馆 (Morgan Library & Museum) 的开幕招待会中拉开了序幕,Morgan 亦展出了馆藏的中国文物珍品。 在艺术周结束时,展售活动亦捷报频传,总销售额将近 2 亿美元。

在成立的第 5 个年头,2013 纽约亚洲艺术周迎来了参展画廊数量的历史新高,共有 43 家画廊积极参与。 艺术周在索罗门·古根汉美术馆 (Guggenheim R. Museum) 举行的开幕酒会中拉开序幕,当时日本现代主义艺术团体「具体派」的回顾展览正在古根汉美术馆展出。 2013 年艺术周的销售总额达到了 1.75 亿美元。

2014 至 2016期间的参展画廊数量皆维持在45家,各画廊每年都持续一贯地在纽约中城至上东城区各地点,以博物馆等级藏品的高质量展览示众。 期间每年的年度酒会都在大都会艺术博物馆 (The Metropolitan Museum) 举行,大都会博物馆为了此次活动,特别开放所有的亚洲艺术展厅,并安排有策展人引导宾客参观各重点展览。

Carrying forth a mission to celebrate and promote Asian art in New York City, Asia Week New York is a collaboration of top-tier Asian art specialists, major auction houses, and world-renowned museums and Asian cultural institutions in the metropolitan New York area. The Asia Week New York Association concentrates its efforts on presenting one non-stop, event-filled week in March of every year, drawing collectors and curators from every corner of the United States and an international clientele from across the globe. The annual event fulfills the broader aim of affirming the importance of Asian art in the citywide—and nationwide—cultural scene.

From March 13–21, 2009, a group of 16 galleries, then dubbed the “Asian Art Dealers of the Upper East Side,” collaborated to present an inaugural open house on March 14, 2009. This open house format and the week-long gallery exhibitions that follow would become the model for subsequent editions of Asia Week New York.

In 2010, the re-designated “Asian Art Dealers New York” group grew to include 31 leading international Asian art specialists who held simultaneous independent exhibitions throughout Manhattan from March 19–27. The week launched with a cocktail reception at the Rubin Museum of Art, followed by Open House Weekend, where lines of visitors crowded galleries across the map. Major auction houses, museums and cultural institutions also took part in the week’s programming, complementing the cultural offerings of dealer participants.

By 2011, the Asian Art Dealers New York Association was officially renamed the Asia Week New York Association and incorporated in the state of New York. Opening with a memorable reception at Asia Society, Asia Week New York 2011 saw more than thirty dealer exhibitions, auctions and special events presented by an ever-growing group of preeminent international Asian art dealers, major auction houses and world-renowned museums and cultural institutions. With thousands of ancient through contemporary Asian works of art on view, sales exceeded $250 million. Mid-week, VIP guests and participants were invited to a private reception, special lecture and exhibition tour at Japan Society, which helped raise awareness of Japan Society’s Earthquake Relief Fund.

The 2012 edition of Asia Week New York took place March 16–24, with a non-stop calendar of exhibitions, auctions, opening parties, educational programs and special events. Festivities kicked off with an opening reception at the Morgan Library & Museum on the evening of March 16th, where the Morgan presented an exhibition of rarely seen Chinese objects from its collection. At week’s close, successful sales were reported across the board, totaling close to $200 million.

In its fifth year, Asia Week New York 2013 saw the largest number of galleries participating since its inception, with a record-setting 43 dealers opening their doors. The week launched with a reception at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, where a retrospective of the modernist Japanese art collective Gutai was on view. The 2013 edition achieved $175 million in sales.

From 2014 to 2016, a steady roster of 45 dealers continued to present museum-quality exhibitions across midtown and the Upper East Side. Each year, the annual reception was held at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, which opened all of its magnificent Asian art galleries for the occasion and offered guests curator-led tours of the major exhibitions.